Illustration of Sabbats by and

Witches and Wiccans celebrate the cycle of the year, known as The Wheel of the Year, consisting of eight Sabbats, and each stage is seen as reflecting the interplay of the greater forces of nature.

The festivals coincide with important times and natural milestones in the agricultural cycle of the year. Different people in different places celebrated the Sabbats in the ancient world; the Sabbats, as we celebrate them now, have evolved from this observance of the natural cycle.

The Sabbats, quarter days, and fire festivals are:
Samhain, Yule (Winter Solstice), Imbolc, Ostara (Spring Equinox), Beltaine, Litha (Summer Solstice), Lughnasadh, and Mabon (Autumn Equinox).

At each point in the Wheel of the Year the Goddess and God are seen in their various aspects: maid, mother and crone; son, King, and Lord of Death. No phase of life is seen as negative or worth less than the others. All stages in any process are necessary, are of equal worth, and part of the natural cycle.